Tags

, ,

This recipe is from the Abel and Cole Website. Abel and Cole deliver lovely organic food to your door and I’m a big fan.

I love making bread but I’m not keen on soda bread. When I saw this recipe I thought great, a soda bread with no soda. But that doesn’t really make sense does it? Well, the explanation is that it’s more ‘like’ a soda bread in the sense that you don’t slice it but tear and share it.

There is no raising agent either so it won’t rise very much, although you can add a little baking powder (and soda if you wish) I quite liked it just the way it was.

Ingredients:

  • 175g self-raising flour
  • 175g celeriac, coarsely grated
  • A generous pinch of freshly ground pepper
  • 75g stilton, crumbled into small pieces
  • 100ml milk (or 50ml yogurt diluted with 50ml water)
  • 1 egg, beaten

Method:

mix the flour with the grated celeriac and pepper

whisk the milk and egg together and add to the mix to make a wet but firm dough. I found that the mix was a little too wet so reserve a little of the milk and egg mixture to use as a glaze.

Try not to overmix but when you have a reasonable dough place it on an oiled baking tray. (or use baking paper)

Place in the middle of the oven for 40 minutes until hollow sounding when tapped underneath. I found my bread took almost an hour to cook properly and was quite brown on top. I did preheat the oven and put it in the middle. Just be prepared for it to take a little longer to cook and watch that it doesn’t burn.

This bread is best served warm and I had mine with carrot and coriander soup.

bluecheesebread soup and bread

