Tags

, , ,

It’s often said that the most important meal of the day is breakfast and for me this is so true. If I skip breakfast I find myself snacking on all sorts of bad things just to keep the tummy rumbling at bay. During winter a nice hot porridge is a fantastic way to keep warm and full until lunch time. Porridge is quick and easy to make and can be really healthy too. This is not fattening and can easily compete on the calorie front with other breakfast cereals, but it really does fill you up and kerb the snacking. Can you say that of any other cereal? (well, unless you are a three Wheetabix person)

This is my porridge recipe for a quick healthy breakfast to keep you going.

  • 38g of porridge oats (I buy supermarket brand, they are just as good)
  • 250ml of water (you can use milk but stick to skimmed or semi-skimmed to keep the calories down)
  • 2 dried apricots chopped
  • 1 large tsp of low-fat greek yoghurt

All you need to do is put porridge and water in a saucepan and bring to the boil and stir. Simmer for 2 minutes.

Put in bowl and top with apricots and yoghurt. (you can substitute fruit if you wish, sultanas or raisins work well)

Hey presto a perfect healthy breakfast:

porridge

 

This recipe is my entry into Foodies100 competition in association with Morphy Richards

ATT00002

